top of page

WiseGP map

This WiseGP map provides an overview of all the centres of scholarship in the British Isles. If you look at individual regions in the table below, you will find further details on each centre’s main areas of expertise. There are key points of contact for each centre, whilst you can find out more by following the links to the websites for each centre of scholarship.

 
LONDON >
SOUTH EAST >

SOUTH WEST >

ANGLIA >
WEST MIDLANDS >

EAST MIDLANDS >
WALES >

YORKSHIRE & HUMBER >

NORTH EAST >
NORTH WEST >
SCOTLAND >

NORTHERN IRELAND >

IRELAND >

Map1.jpg

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Brunel University London
  • Medical Education

Dr Pritti Vaghani

Imperial College

Department of Primary Care and Public Health

https://www.imperial.ac.uk/medicine/

 

  • Chronic disease management

  • Health policy, organisation and delivery

  • Health care technology

Professor Azeem Majeed

Email: a.majeed@imperial.ac.uk

X: @Azeem_Majeed

King’s College London

Primary Care Research Group https://www.kcl.ac.uk/research/primary-care

 

  • Multimorbidity and long term conditions

  • Refugee Mental Health

  • Medical Education

Professor Patrick White

Email: mark.ashworth@kcl.ac.uk

 

London School of Hygiene and Topical Medicine

  • Health and climate change

  • Non-communicable diseases in low-income settings

Professor Liam Smeeth

Email: liam.smeeth@lshtm.ac.uk

Queen Mary University of London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Wolfson Institute of Population Health

https://www.qmul.ac.uk/wiph/

  • Multimorbidity, frailty & mental health

  • Cancer screening prevention & detection

  • Research methods using data science, applied social sciences in healthcare

Professor Fiona Walter

Email: fiona.walter@qmul.ac.uk

X: @fmw22

St George’s University of London

  • Interactions between infection and non-communicable disease

  • Women's health: STI and medications in pregnancy

  • Behaviour change

Professor Judith Ibison

Email: jibison@sgul.ac.uk

University College London

  • Ageing and multiple long-term conditions

  • Mental health

  • Development and evaluation of complex interventions in primary care/community settings including digital health

Professor Kate Walters

Email: k.walters@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Greta Rait

Email: g.rait@ucl.ac.uk

X: @UCL_PCPH


LONDON

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

University of Buckingham

School of undergraduate Medicine

https://www.buckingham.ac.uk/medicine

  • Education

Professor Greg Simons

Kent and Medway Medical School

  • Medical Assessment

  • Work-place stress

  • Palliative care

Dr Kate Neden

Email: catherine.neden@kmms.ac.uk

X: @caneden

University of Brighton

Division of Primary Care and Public Health, Brighton and Sussex Medical School

https://www.bsms.ac.uk/research/primary-care-and-public-health/index.aspx

  • Frailty and multimorbidity

  • Sexual health

  • Use of GP electronic patient records for research

Dr Sangheetha Sornalingham

Email: bsms3465@sussex.ac.uk

University of Oxford

Department of Primary Care Health Sciences

https://www.phc.ox.ac.uk

 

  • Clinical care for long-term conditions

  • Research methods, for example use of big data

  • Healthcare design: digital healthcare

Professor Richard Hobbs

Email: richard.hobbs@phc.ox.ac.uk

 

University of Southampton

  • Supporting self-management

  • Improving use of medicines

  • Digital interventions

Professor Hazel Everitt

Email h.a.everitt@soton.ac.uk

X: @HazelEveritt


SOUTH EAST

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Plymouth University Peninsula Schools of Medicine and Dentistry

Community and Primary Care Research Group

https://www.plymouth.ac.uk/research/primarycare

  • Digital access to care

  • Mental health

  • Ageing and Dementia

Professor Richard Byng

Email: richard.byng@plymouth.ac.uk

University of Bristol

Centre for Academic Primary Care

https://www.bristol.ac.uk/primaryhealthcare/

 

  • Complex conditions

  • Organisation and delivery of care, including multimorbidity and long-term conditions

Professor John Macleod

Email: John.MacLeod@bristol.ac.uk

X: @ProfJohnMacleod

 

Professor Katrina Turner

Email: Katrina.Turner@bristol.ac.uk

X: @DrKMTurner

University of Exeter Medical School

Primary Care/ Health and Community Sciences

http://medicine.exeter.ac.uk/health-community/research/primarycare/

 

  • Long-term conditions

  • COVID-19

  • Digital health

Professor John Campbell

Email: john.campbell@exeter.ac.uk

X: @profjcampbell

 

Professor Richard Neal

Email: R.Neal@exeter.ac.uk

X: @richarddneal

WiseGP Dorset

WiseGP Dorset Community of Practice

  • Education and simulation

  • Quality Improvement/Primary Care Research

Dr Emily Lyness

X: @DrELyness

Email: E.Lyness@southampton.ac.uk

GP PACT

Primary Care Academic Collabrative https://www.gppact.org

  • Care of housebound patients

  • Use of laboratory investigations

  • Hidden workload

Dr Jessica Watson

Email: gppact@gmail.com

X: @GPPACT


SOUTH WEST

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Anglia Ruskin University

  • Education

Dr Roger Tisi

 

University of Cambridge

Department of Public Health and Primary Care

Primary Care Unit

https://www.phpc.cam.ac.uk/research/

 

  • Early disease detection, risk prediction and screening

  • Behaviour and health

  • Health services research

Professor Simon Griffin

Email: ProfGP@medschl.cam.ac.uk

X: @PCU_Cambridge

University of East Anglia

  • Health Behaviour

  • Obesity

Associate Clinical Professor Helen Parretti

Email: H.Parretti@uea.ac.uk

X:  @helen_parretti


ANGLIA

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Keele University

  • Mental Health

  • Musculoskeletal problems

Professor Christian Mallen

Email: c.d.mallen@keele.ac.uk

University of Worcester

  • Education

Professor Sandra Nicholson

Email: s.nicholson@worc.ac.uk

University of Birmingham

  • Chronic disease/multimorbidity

  • Organisation and management of primary care (including access, continuity, underserved population, digital)

  • Medical education

Professor Tom Marshall

Email: t.p.marshall@bham.ac.uk

X: @TomPMarshall

 

University of Manchester

Centre for Primary Care and Health Services Research

https://archive.bmh.manchester.ac.uk/primary-care/

 

  • Health organisation, policy and economics

  • Multi-morbidity and Mental Health

  • Health Technology Assessment

Professor Pete Bower

Email: peter.bower@manchester.ac.uk

X: @Bowercpcman

University of Warwick

  • Quality and safety in primary care - interfaces between emergency, urgent and primary care

  • Women and Families in primary care

  • Life limiting conditions and dying in the community

Associate Clinical Professor Rachel Spencer

Email: r.spencer.2@warwick.ac.uk

 


WEST MIDLANDS

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

University of Leicester

Division of primary care

https://le.ac.uk/division-of-primary-care

 

 

  • Multimorbidity (including diabetes mellitus, cardiovascular disease and chronic kidney disease)

  • Mental health

  • Healthcare management, policy, service design and delivery

Professor Kamlesh Khunti

Email: kk22@le.ac.uk

X: @kamleshkhunti

University of Lincoln

Community and Health Research Unit, School of Health and Social Care

https://www.lincoln.ac.uk/shsc/research/cahru/

 

  • Identifying and addressing gaps in primary and prehospital healthcare provision (quality improvement and implementation science)

Professor Niro Siriwardena

Email: nsiriwardena@lincoln.ac.uk

X: @nsiriwardena

University of Nottingham

  • Prescribing - safety and effectiveness

  • Epidemiology of diseases and risk prediction tools; stratified medicine

  • Injury epidemiology and prevention

Professor Tony Avery

Email: anthony.avery@nottingham.ac.uk

 


EAST MIDLANDS

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Bangor University

North Wales Centre for Primary Care Research

https://www.bangor.ac.uk/nwcpcr/

  • Cancer

  • Musculoskeletal and rehabilitation research

Dr Julia Hiscock

X: @Juliah2003Julia

Cardiff University College of Medicine

Department of Primary Care and Public Health

https://www.cardiff.ac.uk/research/explore

 

  • Shared decision-making

  • Safety and quality of health care

  • Self-management in long-term conditions

Professor Adrian Edwards

Email: EdwardsAG@cardiff.ac.uk


WALES

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

The Medical School Sheffield

  • Underserved populations

  • Persistent physical symptoms

  • Healthcare service delivery

Professor Chris Burton

Email: chris.burton@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Hull York Medical School

  • Advanced Generalist Medicine

  • Workforce and healthcare service delivery

  • Education

Professor Joanne Reeve

Email: Joanne.reeve@hyms.ac.uk

X: @joannelreeve

University of Leeds

Leeds Institute of Health Sciences. Division of Primary Care, Palliative Care and Public Health

https://medicinehealth.leeds.ac.uk/leeds-institute-health-sciences

  • Cancer

  • Health and wellbeing of older people

  • Implementation science

Professor Robbie Foy

Email: R.Foy@leeds.ac.uk

X: @Robbie_Foy


YORKSHIRE & HUMBER

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Primary Care and Ageing Research

https://research.ncl.ac.uk/napcr/

  • Multimorbidity and older age healthcare

  • End of life care

  • Shared-decision making

Professor Barbara Hanratty

Email: barbara.hanratty@ncl.ac.uk

 X: @BarbaraHanratty

University of Sunderland

  • Reflective Practice

  • Widening Participation

  • Community Health

Dr Tom Fairfax

Email: Thomas.fairfax@sunderland.ac.uk


NORTH EAST

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Edge Hill University

Faculty of Health, Social Care and Medicine

https://www.edgehill.ac.uk/departments/academic/health/

  • Education

  • Multimorbidity

Professor Greg Irving

X: @gregjirving

Lancaster University

  • Education

Dr Euan Lawson

Email: e.m.lawson@lancaster.ac.uk

University of Central Lancashire

  • Remote consultations

  • Learning disabilities

  • Stroke prevention

Professor Umesh Chauhan

X: @chauhan_nhs

University of Liverpool

  • Mental health

  • Complex interventions

  • Chronic conditions and multimorbidity

Professor Fiona Rowe

Email: Rowef@liverpool.ac.uk

X: @orthopticbrain


NORTH WEST

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

University of Aberdeen

Institute of Applied Health Sciences, Academic Primary Care

https://www.abdn.ac.uk/iahs/research/primary-care/research.php

  • Cancer diagnosis and post-treatment support in the community

Professor Peter Murchie

Email: p.murchie@abdn.ac.uk

 

University of Dundee

  • COVID-19

  • Service delivery

  • Risk prediction tools

Dr Daniel Morales

Email: d.r.z.morales@dundee.ac.uk

X: @DanMoralesEpi

University of Edinburgh

  • Multimorbidity, polypharmacy and care in later life

  • Cancer

  • Respiratory disease

Professor David Weller

Email: David.weller@ed.ac.uk

University of Glasgow

  • Multimorbidity, deprivation and complex care

  • Organisation and delivery of primary care, including access and engagement issues and digital health

  • Healthcare of marginalised groups

Professor Frances Mair

Email: Frances.Mair@glasgow.ac.uk

X: @francesmair

University of St Andrews

  • Health informatics and decision support tools

  • Evaluation of complex interventions

  • Long-term conditions

Professor Frank Sullivan

Email: fms20@st-andrews.ac.uk


SCOTLAND

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Ulster University

  • Diabetes

  • Learning disabilities

  • GP education

Dr Sian-Lee Ewan

Email: sl.ewan@ulster.ac.uk

X: @SianLee_Ewan

Queen’s University Belfast

School of medicine, dentistry and biomedical sciences

https://www.qub.ac.uk/schools/mdbs/Research/

  • Medical education

  • Quality improvement in healthcare

Professor Nigel Hart

Email: n.hart@qub.ac.uk

X: @nigelhart


NORTHERN IRELAND

ORGANISATION

DEPARTMENT

SCHOLARSHIP FOCUS

POINT OF CONTACT

Trinity College Dublin

Faculty of Health Sciences, Academic Primary Care Centre

https://www.tcd.ie/healthsciences/events/apcc2122.php

  • Multimorbidity

  • Medicines management

  • Health inequality

Professor Susan Smith

Email: susmith@tcd.ie

@susanmsmith


IRELAND
bottom of page